What Does Each Planet Represent In Vedic Astrology

Posted on by

Vedic astrology aspects are nothing but the view or Drishthis of a planet in one house on the other houses or one sign on the other signs.

Vedic astrology aspects are mainly of 2 types.

Mercury is benefice if associated with benefice grahas, and malefic is associated with malefic grahas. He is known as grahapati, or lord of the planets. What color represents each planet? Among the many different colors mentioned for each planet are Moon: White, Mercury: Brown, Venus: Green, Sun: Yellow, Mars: Red, Saturn: Grey, Uranus: Blue, Neptune: Mauve, Pluto: Black. For example; suppose I want to know the planetary position of planets on 24th of June 2018 then all I have to do is enter the date, time and place in any astrology software. You can use Astro Sage for it which come with a mobile app and is accurate when it comes to calculations. In Vedic Astrology, Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu are the 9 planets. Out of these, Rahu and Ketu are shadow planets called Chhaya Grahas. Let us outline the details of various attributes or significations of these planets.

What each house represents in Vedic astrology? Each house represents / rule over multiple things in a person’s life. These houses are called as ‘Bhaavs’. Rahu and Ketu do not own any signs as they are not physical entities. However they are co-rulers of some signs as mentioned later. What does each planet represent in Vedic astrology? While each planet represents a range of affairs, they each have a core symbolic meaning. Venus, for example, signifies love in the person’s life. A Venus that is well-placed will bring love and happiness. A Venus which is associated with malefics or bad houses will bring more challenges in the love life. Which planet is responsible for cheating?

  • Sign aspects and
  • planetary aspects.

Aspects of Signs

To know these it is important to remember different Signs and their features.

As mentioned earlier in another post Signs according to their nature can be divided into 3 types. Movable, fixed and dual.

1,4,7,10 which are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn are movable Signs.

2,5,8,11 which are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are fixed Signs.

3,6,9,12 which are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces are dual Signs or common Signs.

According to the rules given in the Brahat Parashara Hora Shastra all Signs aspect, the Sign falling opposite to them and also those falling on both sides of them.

So movable Signs have their aspects on fifth, eighth and eleventh from them, fixed ones on the third, sixth and ninth from them and dual ones on the 4th,7th and 10th from them.

What it means in simpler words is that movable Signs aspect all the fixed Signs except the fixed Sign adjacent to them. Fixed Sign aspects all the movable Signs except for the movable Sign which falls twelfth from it and a dual Sign aspects all the remaining dual Signs. Planets in those Signs also have similar aspects as the Signs they occupy.

Vedic Astrology Aspects of Each Planet

Apart from having the Sign aspects planets also have their own individual aspects from the position they are placed in the horoscope. Below are given the Aspects of each planet and the extent to which they aspect.


Fully aspects the 7th house, gives a 3/4th aspect on the 4th and 8th houses, half aspect(50%) on the 5th and the 9th house and quarter(1/4th) on the 3rd and 10th house.


Fully aspects the 7th house, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and the 8th, half aspect on the 5th and 9th and 1/4th on the 3rd and the 10th house.

Cardinal quality in this sign will manifest through the process of decision-making. We see Libra as indecisive, which is quite normal when you think about giving up on the warmth of summer. However, once Libra makes a decision, there is probably nothing in this world that could change it. What are the cardinal signs in astrology Quality signs help determine how you approach things in life, and there are three major ones (each encompassing four Sun signs): cardinal signs, fixed signs, and mutable signs.


Vedic astrology planet today

Full aspect on the 4th,7th and the 8th house, half aspect on the 5th and the 9th house, quarter aspect on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Fully aspects the 7th house, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and the 8th, half aspect on the 5th and 9th and 1/4th on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Full aspect on the 5th,7th and the 9th house, 3/4th on the 4th and the 8th house, quarter on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Fully aspects the 7th house, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and the 8th, half aspect on the 5th and 9th and 1/4th on the 3rd and the 10th house.


What Does Each Planet Represent In Vedic Astrology Characteristics

Fully aspects the 3rd,10th and 7th houses, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and 8th houses and half aspect on the 5th and the 9th house.

Exalted Planets In Vedic Astrology

Benefic and Malefic Aspects

What Do Planets Represent In Vedic Astrology

Aspects can be Benefic (which is good for us) and/or Malefic (Causing bad and harmful effects to the house) depending on the dignity of the planet and their natural inclinations. For example, Jupiter is a natural benefic whose aspect usually is considered good unless Jupiter itself is under severe affliction from malefics and conjunctions and is in the wrong house. Also if Jupiter is a functional malefic in a chart it can cause harm due to its aspects.